APNS elects Hameed Haroon as president

  • CM Shehbaz felicitates newly-elected APNS body

LAHORE: The All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS) unanimously elected Hameed Haroon as president, Kazi Asad Abid as senior vice president, Mehtab Khan as vice president, Sarmad Ali as secretary general, Bilal Mehmood as joint secretary and Waseem Ahmed as finance secretary of the society for the year 2018-19.

The annual general council meeting held on March 31, 2018, under the chairmanship of Sarmad Ali, President, unanimously approved the report of the executive committee for the preceding year as well as the annual accounts of the society for the year 2017.

The general council attended by 169 full members from across the country, formed an election commission, headed by Syed Sajjad Bokhari, Nasir Daad Baloch and Javid Ahmed as members. The election commission conducted the polls of the executive committee for the year 2018-19.

The executive committee also elected Fauzia Shaheen, Monthly Dastak, Karachi, on the women-publishers seat.

The general council congratulated Dr Waqar Yousuf Azeemi on the achievement of his daughter Kanza Azeemi who was bestowed with the top award at Oxford University, being the first Pakistani to achieve the prestigious award.

The newly elected executive committee appreciated the performance of the election commission for conducting transparent elections. The members gave standing ovation to the office bearers for the year 2017-18 for their hard work to solve the problems faced by member publications.


Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif on Sunday congratulated the newly-elected office-bearers of All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS) including President Hameed Haroon, Secretary General Sarmad Ali and others on their election, and extended his best wishes for them.

“We hope that the newly-elected officials of APNS will play their proactive role in resolving the issues of the newspaper industry,” he added.

He hoped that these officials would assume their compelling role in promoting freedom of journalism and its democratic values.