West indies team to arrive in Karachi tonight


KARACHI: West Indies 13-member team, which will be playing three-match T20 series in Pakistan, will arrive in Karachi on Saturday night.

According to media reports, the first group of players will reach at 9:30 pm while the second group will arrive at 12:15 am at Jinnah International Airport.

The Carribean team is reaching in two groups due to lack of seats for all players on the flight to Karachi from Dubai.

The two-time T20 champion will play all three matches at National Stadium in Karachi. Tight security arrangments have been made by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and law enforcement agencies (LEAs) for the series.

The first match will be played on Sunday, second on Monday and final on Tuesday. The West Indian players will leave for the airport right after the third match.

Furthermore, West Indian team will not conduct any training session before the first match. The captains of both teams will also not hold the pre-match press conference and there will also be no photo session with the trophy.

As per PCB, Pakistan cricket team will hold the press conference on Saturday at 5:30 pm after which a practice session will be conducted in the National Stadium.


West Indies on late Thursday announced their 13-member squad for the three T20I matches against Pakistan in Karachi.

With Jason Mohammed as captain, prominent Windies players including Samuel Badree, Andre Fletcher, Marlon Samuels and Chadwick Walton will be touring Pakistan for three consecutive matches on April 1-3.

West Indies squad: Jason Mohammed (C), Samuel Badree, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Andre McCarthy, Keemo Paul, Veerasammy Permaul, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Odean Smith, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams.

Pakistan squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Hussain Talat, Faheem Ashraf, Muhammad Nawaz, Shahdab Khan, M Amir, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali, Usman Khan Shinwari, Shaheen Shah Afridi.