Tareen replaces Dar as EAC chairman


ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi reconstituted the Economic Advisory Council (EAC), according to a notification issued on Tuesday.

Shaukat Tareen, who previously served as the finance minister, would head the council. The EAC would advise the government on economic policies.

The new 13-member committee included notables such as banking and financial sector specialist Atif Bajwa, United Bank Limited (UBL) CEO Sima Kamil, Habib Bank Chairman Sultan Ali Allana, Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS) Professor Dr Ali Cheema, Arib Habib, Fawad Anwar and Asif Riaz.

The new council included Supreme Court (SC) Advocate Salman Akram Raja and agricultural policy specialist Muhammad Tasneem.

Abid Hassan and Dr Abdul Qayyum Sulehri, who were a part of the previous EAC council, were included in the new council.