Pakistan women to tour Sri Lanka in March for ODI, T20I series


Sri Lanka Cricket announced that the women’s team will host their Pakistan counterparts in March for three ODIs and three T20Is.

According to reports, the bilateral series will be played from March 20 to 31, Sri Lanka’s first since the defeat in West Indies last October. Also, it will be their first match against Pakistan since the 2017 World Cup in England.

Pakistan women team had lost to Sri Lanka in a thrilling game, their 14th straight defeat in World Cups.

The green shirts will seek victory in the three-match ODI series in Dambulla on March 20, 22, and 24. It will count for the ICC Women’s Championship. The three-match T20I series will be played in Colombo with the first match at the SSC on March 28, second at the NCC on March 30, and the final game back at the SSC on March 31.

All eight teams were scheduled to play three one-dayers each in the 2017-21 cycle of the Women’s Championship.While Pakistan are placed on the sixth spot with one win to their name, Sri Lanka are placed at the bottom – the only team without a win yet.

Meanwhile, the National Women’s Cricket Selection Committee has announced the names of 21 women players for the training camp scheduled from February 28 to March 8 at the National Cricket Academy.

It is being organised for the upcoming ICC Women Championship Round 2 (Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka) in Sri Lanka, said a spokesman of the Pakistan Cricket Board.

The camp will be attended by Bismah Maroof (captain), Nahida Khan, Sidra Amin, Ayesha Zafar, Javeria Wadood, Irum Javed, Muniba Ali, Fareeha Mehmood, Sidra Nawaz, Sana Mir, Nida Dar, Kainat Imtiaz, Natalia Pervaiz,Waheeda Akhtar, Nashra Sandhu, Ghulam Fatima, Rameen Shamim, Diana Baig, Maham Tariq, Aiman Anwer and Anam Amin.