2014 sit-in cases: ATC declares Shireen Mazari innocent


ISLAMABAD: An anti-terrorism court (ATC) on Thursday declared the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Shireen Mazari innocent, while extended the interim bail to other PTI leaders in cases related to violence during a sit-in the capital in 2014.

The court, while declaring Mazari innocent, said in its verdict that she does not need to request for a bail, ordering the return of a surety bond of Rs100, 000 to her.

Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Shireen Mazari, Asad Umar and Shafqat Mahmood appeared before the court.

According to the police officers, PTI leader Shireen Mazari was involved in an attack on the government buildings during the 2014 sit-in. The PTI lawyer, however, said that the accused was a member of the national assembly and that these cases were filed against peaceful protestors.

Subsequently, the court adjourned the hearing.

Shah Mehmood Qureshi, while speaking to the media later, said that the inclusion of terrorism clauses in cases against political leaders was condemnable.

At the last hearing on January 30, an ATC granted interim bail to PTI Vice Chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi in the 2014 sit-in violence case, whereas the PTI Chairman Imran Khan was summoned on February 15 in SSP Junejo attack case– one of the four cases registered during 2014 sit-in.

At present, Imran is out on bail in the case.  Shah Mehmood Qureshi was granted bail by the court after he surrendered in four terrorism cases.

The court had issued orders to Qureshi, Umar, Mazari and Alvi to appear before the ATC on February 8.

On January 17, the court granted bail to PTI leaders Shireen Mazari, Arif Alvi and Asad Umar in cases of terrorism after the three leaders approached the court to get bail before arrest.

Mazari, Umar and Alvi are among at least 28 others that have been nominated in the cases.

The court is hearing four cases pertaining to violence, including the destruction of property in the Red Zone, attack on the state TV channel’s building and injuring then-SSP Operations Asmatullah Junejo during the 2014 protest.

The cases were filed against leaders of the PTI and Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT).



Comments are closed.