Bizenjo says Pakistan must alter domestic, foreign policies


Federal Minister for Ports and Shipping Hasil Khan Bizenjo on Tuesday, during a session of the Parliamentary Committee on National Security, said that Pakistan should change its domestic and foreign policies.

The meeting discussed the provocative statement of the US president against Pakistan.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s Shireen Mazari said that ‘some secret policies are necessary’ for national security.

Through a unanimous resolution in the National Assembly, parliamentarians condemned the US president’s statement and recommended that any sort of cooperation with the country, including the provision of land and air route facilities, should be stopped.

The 33-member committee met under the chair of National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq. In this connection, all members and other officials including the secretaries of ministries of foreign affairs, interior, law, and defence were asked to give a briefing on the current situation.

The National Assembly had strongly rejected the US president’s statement against Pakistan. Lawmakers expressed their disappointment at US’ failure to recognise the huge sacrifices that the government and people of Pakistan had made in the war against terrorism.

A federal cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi to hold discussions on the revised US policy on the region and the political situation in the country also took place in the national capital.

The committee headed by Sadiq comprises the heads of both the houses of Parliament including MNAs Zahid Hamid, Syed Naveed Qamar, Imran Khan, Dr Farooq Sattar, Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi, Ghaus Bux Khan Mahar, Mahmood Khan Achakzai, Sahibzada Tariqullah, Ghulam Ahmed Bilour, Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, Ijazul Haq, Sardar Kamal Khan Bangulzai, Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed, Engineer Usman Khan Tarakai, Iftikharuddin, Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao, Syed Essa Nori, Al-Haaj Shah Jee Gul Afridi, senators Mushahidullah Khan, Sherry Rehman, Dr Jahnzeb Jamaldini, Hasil Khan Bizenjo, Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah, Hidyatullah, Talha Mehmood, Saeedul Hassan Mandokhail, Sirajul Haq, Mir Israrullah Khan Zehri, Usman Khan Kakar, Azam Khan Swati and Ilyas Ahmed Bilour.