COAS approves death sentence of four terrorists


Chief of Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa on Friday signed the death sentence of four convicted terrorists, said the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR).

The four terroriststried and sentenced by the military courtswere also involved in the murder of 16 people and other attacks on civilians, military personnel, and law enforcement personnel, added ISPR.

The names of the convicts are as follows: Riaz Ahmad, Hafeezur Rehman, Mohammad Saleem and Qifayatullah.

Moreover, the military courts also sentenced 23 other convicts to prison.

Earlier in March, President Mamnoon Hussain signed the 28th Amendment Bill 2017 extending military courts for another two years.

The bill, following the president’s signature, is now an Act of Parliament. Under this Act, the duration of the military courts has been extended for another two years, starting from January 7, 2017.