ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 kicks off today


The 11th ICC Women’s World Cup will begin in England today (Saturday) as two matches have been scheduled for the opening day of the tournament.

Match one is between New Zealand and Sri Lanka at Bristol County Ground, whereas the second one is scheduled between hosts England and India at Derby’s County Ground. Both matches will begin at 02:30 PM (PST).

Pakistan, led by Sana Mir, will start their campaign on Sunday at Grace Road in Leicester, where the Green Shirts will take on South Africa. Pakistan will lock horns with arch-rivals India on July 2.

Eight teams will be in action in the Women’s World Cup, and top four sides will qualify for the semifinals after the league matches.

ICC Women’s World Cup started in 1973, and out of the ten editions, Australia have become champions six times. England remained victorious three times, and New Zealand claimed the title once.