AJK legislative Assembly reposes confidence in PM Nawaz Sharif

MUZAFFARABAD: April 30 – Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani addressing to the members during AJK Legislative Assembly session. APP photo by Irshad Sheikh

Legislative Assembly of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) reposed full confidence in the leadership of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and asked the opposition parties to respect the verdict of Supreme Court of Pakistan.

The House passed six different resolutions which expressed great satisfaction over the performance of the Federal Government of Pakistan. These resolutions were moved by the Leader of the House Raja Farooq Haider Khan, Deputy Speaker Sardar Farooq Tahir, Minister Law Raja Nisar Ahmad, Senior Minister Ch. Tariq Farooq Minister Forests Sardar Mir Akbar Khan and MLAs Mustafa Bashir Abbasi and Asad Aleem Shah.

The speaker combined the drafts of the resolutions and presented it before the House. The joint resolution was adopted by the majority members of the legislative assembly while the opposition boycotted the proceedings. The opposition members staged a sit-in in front of the House in protest against the increase of salaries and privileges of the Prime Minister and his cabinet.

The joint resolution stated that the country had ascended towards progress and prosperity. It was also expressed that all current country indicators were positive due to Nawaz Sharif’s efforts. It was further stated that any attempt to destabilize the government would be harmful for the prospering economy and efforts to root out terrorism.

The resolution asked the opposition parties to avoid any agitation that could destabilize democracy in the country. It was also requested that there be a smooth transition of power after the completion of the tenure of the current government in larger public interest.

The resolution also lauded the efforts of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif for raising Kashmir issue in the United Nations and other international forums. The legislative assembly assured him support from the people of Jammu and Kashmir.