England bat first in fifth India Test


England Captain Alastair Cook won the toss and chose to bat first in the fifth and final Test against India in Chennai on Friday.

The visitors, who have already lost the series 3-0, are looking for a consolation win.

Fit-again fast bowler Stuart Broad returns to England’s starting line-up in place of James Anderson, who was ruled out due to “body soreness”.

All-rounder Liam Dawson makes his England debut in place of Chris Woakes.

Virat Kohli’s side also made two changes to the team that thumped England by an innings and 36 runs in the fourth Test at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium.

Off-spinner Jayant Yadav, out with a hamstring strain, is replaced by leg-spinner Amit Mishra, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar makes way for paceman Ishant Sharma.

The match at MA Chidambaram Stadium starts just four days after Cyclone Vardah wreaked havoc in Chennai on Monday.

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Murali Vijay, Karun Nair, Cheteshwar Pujara, Lokesh Rahul, Parthiv Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

England: Alastair Cook (capt), Keaton Jennings, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, Liam Dawson, Jake Ball

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA), Simon Fry (AUS)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)