Bilawal warns of street protests if PPP demands not met

  • PPP files adjournment motion against PM


Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari on Tuesday vowed to launch a protest movement against Prime Minister Nawaz Shaif if his four demands were not met.

Addressing a press conference, the PPP chairman said that the PPP Central Executive Committee (CEC) and federal council would meet on December 27 and decide about the protest movement against the government.

“The prime minister is not only making fun of the PPP, but the people of Pakistan. While in his address to the National Assembly, the PM had promised an investigation. However, after the passage of one year, nothing has been done. If the federal government does not address our demands, we will ourselves implement them,” he said.

He said that the PPP was the only political force that had roots all over the country. He expressed concern over the law and order situation in Punjab. “If the interior minister cannot be held accountable, and the government is not willing to constitute a committee to hold an in-camera session, the PPP will launch a movement to force the government to go,” he said.

The PPP chairman said the same law should be applied to everyone, including the prime minister. “If Shaheed ZA Bhutto, Shaheed Benazir Bhutto, Asif Ali Zardari and Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani can appear in courts, then why not Mian Nawaz Sharif?” he asked.

Earlier, in a series of tweets, Bilawal stated that government’s refusal to implement National Action Plan had resulted in incidents such as Chakwal.

“The government must accept his demands immediately especially on countering violent extremism. If the government is scared of being held accountable in the Parliament, The New PPP will see them on the streets,” he tweeted.


PPP files motion against PM

Opposition Leader in the National Assembly Syed Khurshid Ahmed Shah on Tuesday filed a privileged motion against Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.

The PPP said that the motion was moved on the contradictory statements of the PM regarding London flats. The motion was signed by Naveed Qamar, Ijaz Jakhrani, Shazia Murree and Nafeesa Shah.