PML-N’s Raja Farooq Haider elected as AJK PM


The Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly Sunday (today) elected Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) candidate Raja Farooq Haider Khan as the new Azad Jammu and Kashmir’s Prime Minister (PM).

Read more: PML-N gets three out of five women reserved seats in AJK LA

According to details, a meeting of AJK Assembly was started under the supervision of Speaker Shah Ghulam Qadir in which the election for new PM was held.

Farooq Haider received 38 votes out of the total 48 votes.  Apart from the ruling PML-N’s candidate, Chaudhry Yasin from Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Devan Ghulam Mohiuddin had also submitted their papers for the nomination.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued a schedule for selection of the AJK president as well. The papers for the president would be submitted on August 11, where scrutiny of the papers would be carried out on the same day.

Read more: Raja Farooq Haider nominated as AJK PM