Justice Mian Saqib Nisar takes oath as acting CJP


Senior most judge of the Supreme Court Justice Mian Saqib Nisar on Saturday took oath as acting chief justice of Pakistan (CJP).

The oath was administered by Justice Asif Saeed Khan Khosa in a ceremony held at Supreme Court Registry, Lahore.

Justice Mian Saqib Nisar will serve as chief justice of Pakistan during the absence of Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali.

The ceremony was attended by judges of the Supreme Court of Pakistan, Justice Gulzar Ahmed, Justice Sh. Azmat Saeed, Justice Iqbal Hameed-ur- Rahman, Justice Umar Ata Bandial, Justice Manzoor Ahmad Malik and Justice Sardar Tariq Masood.

Lahore High Court Chief Justice Syed Mansoor Ali Shah and other High Court judges who also attended the ceremony include Justice Shahid Hameed Dar, Justice Muhammad Yawar Ali, Justice Sardar Muhammad Shamim Khan, Justice Mamoon Rashid Sheikh, Justice Muhammad Farrukh Irfan Khan and Justice Alia Neelum.

Additional Attorney General Ch Naseer Bhutta, Advocate General Punjab Shakilur Rehman, Prosecutor General Punjab Ihtisham Qadir Shah were also present on the occasion.