MQM wins Sindh Assembly seat in Karachi by-poll


The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) on Thursday won the by-election in constituency PS-115, according to unofficial and unconfirmed results.

MQM’s Faisal Rafique won the seat by securing 11,747 votes, while his rival from the Muhajir Qaumi Movement (MQM-H) bagged 1,074 votes.

Total number of voters registered in the constituency are 162,614 and 83 polling stations were set up in the constituency for the by-election.

Polling began at 8am and continued without any interval till 5pm with reports of clashes between Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and the Muhajir Qaumi Movement (MQM-H).

Hours before the polling began, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate for NA-245 Amjadullah Khan announced to join MQM, withdrawing in favour of party’s candidate Kamal Mallick.

The national and provincial assembly seats (NA-245 and PS-115) fell vacant after MQM’s Rehan Hashmi and Arshad Vohra tendered resignations.