Nawaz Sharif chairs meeting of PML-N Parliamentary Board


Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in his capacity as Chairman of PML-N’s Parliamentary Board on Wednesday chaired the board’s meeting here to evolve a strategy for the next AJK Legislative Assembly election and ponder over the names of party candidates.

The 17-member PML-N Parliamentary Board comprises senior party leaders from Azad Jammu and Kashmir as well as the central leaders of party.

With Dr Asif Kirmani as Secretary Coordination, Raja Zafar-ul-Haq, Raja Farooq Haider, Shah Ghulam Qadir, Chaudhry Tariq Farooq, Dr Najeeb Khan Naqi, Chaudhry Muhammad Aziz and Sardar Abdul Khaliq Wasi are the board members.

Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Chaudhry Barjees Tahir, Pervaiz Rashid, and Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan also attended the meeting.

During the meeting, it was reiterated that the PML-N leadership was committed to finalising the names of party candidates for the AJK elections on merit so that the true representatives of people come forward and put AJK on the path of progress and development by focussing on the projects of people’s welfare.

Election on 41 seats in the 49-member Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly is held directly whereas 12 seats are reserved for the refugees, five for women while three others are reserved for Ulema and technocrats.