Out-of-turn promotion: Police officers get demotion orders


Regional Police Officer (RPO) Rawalpindi Muhammad Wisal Fakhar Sultan Raja has withdrawn promotions given to 96 police officers out of turn and demoted 16 Deputy Superintendents Police (DSPs), 16 Inspectors, 42 Sub-Inspectors (SI) and 22 Assistant Sub-Inspectors (ASIs).

According to PRO RPO Office, following the directives of the Supreme Court, a notification in this regard has been issued. DSPs who were demoted include DSP Waris Khan Circle Mirza Zaman Raza, DSP Motorway Muhammad Asghar, DSP Chaudhary Muhammad Iftikhar, DSP Muhammad Shafique, DSP Mirza Tahir Sikandar, DSP Special Branch Muhammad Azam Butt, DSP Zaghum Abbas, DSP Majeed Akhtar, DSP Malik Muhammad Anwar, DSP Malik Muhammad Afsar, DSP Malik Muhammad Umar Hayat, DSP Traffic Rawalpindi Khan Zaman, DSP CTD Rawalpindi Abdul Waheed, DSP Iqbal Hussain, DSP Safdar Iqbal and DSP Asad Ishaq.

Inspectors whose promotions have been withdrawn include Javed Hassan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Riaz, Jameel Anwar Abbasi, Inspector National Police Acadamy Islamabad Ilyas Khan, Inspector Police College Sihala Ayaz Mahmood, Inspector Special Branch Rawalpindi Tahir Anis, Inspector Gujranawala Mudasir Rafique, Inspector Lahore Babar Bashir, Inspector Chakawal Muhammad Numan, Inspector Chakwal Mahmood Hussain, Inspector Muhammad Yousaf, Station House Officer (SHO) Airport Police Station Muhammad Jameel, SI/SHO Westridge Police Station Nadeem Zafar, SI Abdul Rauf, ASI Bostan Khan, ASI Muhammad Rafique, SI Bashir Ahmed, ASI Medical Board, Muzafar Khan and several others.

The officers have been demoted to the same rank on which they were serving at the time of their out-of-turn promotions, he added.