World T20 trophy unveiled at Army Public School in Peshawar



A ceremony to unveil the ICC World Twenty20 trophy was held at terror-hit Army Public School in Peshawar on Monday.

The army-run school in Peshawar was attacked by Taliban gunmen on December 16 last year, claiming lives of more than 150 people, most of them schoolchildren.

The trophy was unveiled by students of APS. One-day international (ODI) skipper Azhar Ali was also present on the occasion.

It was an honor to pay tribute to APS Peshawar & home of domestic T20 champions during Nissan Trophy Tour.

The trophy will arrive in Lahore on Tuesday, before it moves on to Bangladesh (14 &15 January) and then Sri Lanka (17 & 18 January).

The ICC World Twenty20 2016 trophy embarked on a global journey from Mumbai on Sunday, 13 December and will return to New Delhi on February 1.

As part of the Nissan Trophy Tour, the trophy is visiting 12 countries taking part in the tournament which will be staged in India from 11 March to 3 April 2016.

During its journey, the trophy has been on display at domestic and international matches, as well as at various public places, which will enable the fans to capture a very special moment with the most prestigious silverware in the shortest format of the world game.

India and Pakistan will play their group match at the World Twenty20 in the hill city of Dharamsala on March 19, and New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semifinals.

Kolkata‘s Eden Gardens was already announced as the venue for the final of the 16-team tournament from March 8 to April 3.

South Africa, England, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka are in Group 1, while India, Pakistan, Australia, and New Zealandare in Group 2 of the Super 10 stage.

They will be joined by two of the eight other teams competing in a qualifying competition.

Chennai was not chosen as a venue since three stands at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium are not in use because of a legal issue with local authorities.

It will, however, host matches in the Women s World Twenty20 to be played concurrently.

The men‘s tournament, which carries prize money of $5.6 million, has been won once each by India, Pakistan, England, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka.

Defending champion Sri Lanka is the only team to have reached the final three times.


  1. This was a good gesture towards the children as it shows the level of support for the students there. Cricket T20 world cup is one of the most anticipated event in which some great teams compete. Cricket fans give their full support to their teams and are the reason the cup is so important.

Comments are closed.