Mickey Arthur named coach for PSL Karachi franchise


Former South Africa and Australia coach, Mickey Arthur, has been named the head coach of the Karachi side for the upcoming Pakistan Super League (PSL), team owner Salman Iqbal announced on Friday.

Iqbal, the CEO of the ARY Group, who purchased the Karachi franchise for a reported amount of $26 million, picked former leg-spin great Mushtaq Ahmed as Arthur’s deputy.

Following a successful tenure as South Africa’s coach from 2005, Arthur was appointed to the Australia role after their home Ashes defeat in 2010-11.

Despite winning 10 of his 19 Tests in charge, he had rifts with many of his senior players, mainly during the infamous homework saga in India in 2012-13, and was replaced by Darren Lehmann.

Since then, the South African has worked in both the Caribbean Premier League, where he coached Jamaica Tallawahs, and the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), where he is now in charge of the Dhaka side.

Arthur also coached domestic sides in South Africa, with Eastern Cape, and Australia, where he coached Western Australia.

Earlier, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) sold five franchise rights for the inaugural PSL for $93 million for a period of 10 years.

Five companies bought the Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar, Islamabad, and Quetta teams.

Salman Iqbal successfully bought the Karachi franchise, while Quetta’s rights were sold to Omar Associates.

Qatar Oil snapped up the Lahore franchise, Leonine Global Sports bought the Islamabad team while Javed Afridi, CEO of Haier Group and a long-timer partner of Pakistan cricket, won rights for the Peshawar franchise.

List of coaches (with native countries and experience):

Mickey Arthur (South Africa) — Australia, South Africa and Western Australia

Graham Ford (South Africa) — South Africa, Sri Lanka

Eric Simons (South Africa) — South Africa, India, Delhi Daredevils

Stuart Law (Australia) — Sri Lanka, Australia, Bangladesh

Robin Singh (India) — Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians, Barbados Tridents

Ottis Gibson (West Indies) — former England, West Indies

Ray Jennings (South Africa) — South Africa, Royal Challengers Bangalore

Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) — New Zealand, Sri Lanka;

Gordon Greenidge (West Indies) — Bangladesh;

Darren Berry (Australia) — Adelaide Strikers, Rajasthan Royals, South Australia

Shane Jurgensen (Australia) —New Zealand, Bangladesh

Andy Moles (England) — New Zealand, Scotland, Kenya, Afghanistan

Chris Adams (England) — Sri Lanka, Surrey

Mohammad Akram (Pakistan) — Pakistan

Abdul Rehman (Pakistan) — Peshawar