PML-N leads in Punjab with 882 seats | Pakistan Today

PML-N leads in Punjab with 882 seats

The PML-N secured lead in Punjab, winning 882 seats, according to unofficial results. Independent candidates secured 831 seats while the PTI followed up with 236 and the PPP with 106.

The elections were held in seven south Punjab districts – Multan, Dera Ghazi Khan, Bahawalpur, Rajanpur, Muzaffargarh, Rahim Yar Khan, Layyah and four central Punjab districts – Jhang, Khushab, Sialkot and Narowal as well as Rawalpindi.

Bloody violence was reported from Rawalpindi, where a cousin of an independent candidate was gunned down. Sporadic incidents of violence, clashes and injuries were also reported from other districts, but the elections were largely peaceful with negligible complaints of rigging.

Law enforcement agencies vigilant security coupled with a ban on carrying and displaying arms bore fruits as voters, an overwhelming number of women among them, used their right to franchise. Reports suggested that turnout of voters crossed 50 per cent in almost all 12 districts.

The first two phases of the elections were held in 12 districts on Oct 31 and Nov 19. The Election Commission of Pakistan’s Punjab office has announced that the results will be consolidated in a day or two and notified in one go.

In Punjab, PML-N is leading with 708 UC seats followed by independents candidates who got 687 seats. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf remained third by winning 150 seats, while Pakistan People’s Party could manage to get only 55 seats.

The eagerness of the voters in LB polls can be adjudged with the fact that polling stations witnessed some old citizens casting their votes. The 103-year-old woman arrived at polling station of UC-40 of Rawalpindi on a wheel-chair and used her right to vote. On the other hand, 101-year-old Ghulam Abbas came with his son at polling station of UC-32 of Rawalpindi and cast his vote.

At least 18 people were injured in different incidents of scuffle between activistsist of different political parties. Polling has ended for the third and final phase of local government elections in Karachi and Punjab. Clashes also erupted in different cities of Punjab. In Multan, supporters of two rival parties clashed at a polling station of Union Council 10. Heavy contingent of police rushed to the scene and took the situation in control. Workers of PTI and PML-N clashed at Gangal polling station of Sialkot, where polling was stopped. The PTI and PML-N workers also clashed at Union Council Mohammad Pura’s polling station in Sialkot. Seven people were injured when rival voters pelted stones on each other in Chak Qazian in Narowal.

Related posts