Third phase of LB polls on Saturday


The polling for third and final phase of local government elections in 12 districts of Punjab will be held amid tight security on Saturday.

Districts where polling will be held include Rawalpindi, Multan, DG Khan, Bahawalpur, Sialkot, Narowal, Khushab, Jhang, Ranjanpur, Muzaffargarh, Layyah and Rahim Yar Khan.

The Election Commission has finalised all necessary administrative and security measures to ensure free, fair and transparent polling process. As many as 5,251 candidates of chairman and vice chairman (joint candidates) and 31,848 for general members of Wards within Union Councils and Municipal Committees will contest the elections.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan officials, a total of 2,507 wards have been formed within Union Councils and Municipal Committees in five Municipal Corporations, 12 District Councils and 58 Municipal Committees in different cities.

As many as 18 candidates of chairman and vice chairman and 520 for general members have been elected unopposed while collectively 6,160 candidates withdraw their candidature. A total 16,986,946 (male 9,447,933, female 7,539,013) voters will exercise their right to franchise in the elections.

As many as 12 DROs, 259 ROs and 518 AROs will supervise the election process while 14,470 presiding officers, 80,000 APOs and 40,000 Polling Officers will be responsible to hold elections.

District Returning Officers (DROs), Returning Officers (ROs) and Assistant Returning Officers (AROs) have been asked to fulfill their duties as per law and rules and also observe neutrality and impartiality.

The voter will cast their votes at 40,000 polling booths of 14470 polling stations.

Meanwhile, on the directions of Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif the provincial government has finalised foolproof plan for ensuring security to voters during local bodies elections. There would be complete ban on display of arms, taking out victory rallies and processions.