Kusal Perera ton downs Pakistan A


A ton from Kusal Perera and a half-century from Ashan Priyanjan guided Sri Lanka A to an eight-wicket win over Pakistan A in the first unofficial ODI in Matara.

Chasing 204, Sri Lanka’s didn’t start well as they lost Shehan Jayasuriya and Dhanuskha Gunthilaka for single digits inside six overs. Perera then had an unbeaten 152-run partnership with Priyanjan for the third wicket. He struck 114 from 88 balls including 18 fours and a six, before retiring hurt in the 30th over.

Priyanjan played second fiddle to Perera in the partnership, scoring an unbeaten 57 from 77 balls with four fours and one six. Milinda Siriwardana and Priyanjan saw Sri Lanka home after Perera retired hurt.

Pakistan A had chosen to bat and found themselves at 66 for 3 in the 17th over. Umar Amin and Fawad Alam then put on 62 for the fourth wicket, a stand that ended with the fall of Amin’s wicket, leaving them 128 for 4 in the 32nd over.

A couple of 30-plus partnerships took Pakistan past 200 but they were bowled out for 203. Their captain Alam top-scored with a 74-ball 58. Tharindu Kaushal, Lahiru Gamage and Jayasuriya picked up two wickets each while Dushmantha Chameera ended with figures of 3 for 34


Pakistan A

Mohammad Rizwan c Gunaratne b Gamage        5

Israrullah c & b Jayasuriya             25

Khurram Manzoor c †Perera b Chameera             24

Fawad Alam c Madushanka b Gamage   58

Umar Amin c & b Jayasuriya        32

Saad Nasim c Vithanage b Madushanka 2

Imad Wasim c Madushanka b Kaushal    35

Bilawal Bhatti lbw b Chameera   2

Shahzaib Ahmed c †Perera b Chameera                0

Mir Hamza c Priyanjan b Kaushal               1

Zia-ul-Haq not out           3

Extras (lb 1, w 12, nb 3)  16

Total (all out; 48.1 overs)              203

Fall of wickets 1-16 (Mohammad Rizwan, 6.3 ov), 2-47 (Israrullah, 11.5 ov), 3-66 (Khurram Manzoor, 16.6 ov), 4-128 (Umar Amin, 31.5 ov), 5-133 (Saad Nasim, 32.5 ov), 6-167 (Fawad Alam, 38.1 ov), 7-170 (Bilawal Bhatti, 39.2 ov), 8-170 (Shahzaib Ahmed, 39.3 ov), 9-171 (Mir Hamza, 40.4 ov), 10-203 (Imad Wasim, 48.1 ov)


PLS Gamage 8-1-40-2, LD Madushanka 8-0-31-1, DSNFG Jayasuriya 10-0-49-2, PVD Chameera 8-0-34-3, PHT Kaushal 9.1-1-35-2, SMA Priyanjan 5-0-13-0

Sri Lanka A

MDKJ Perera retired hurt             114

DSNFG Jayasuriya c †Mohammad Rizwan b Mir Hamza   5

MD Gunathilaka c †Mohammad Rizwan b Zia-ul-Haq       4

SMA Priyanjan not out  57

TAM Siriwardana not out              15

Extras (lb 1, w 7, nb 1)    9

Total (2 wickets; 32.2 overs)        204

Did not batKDK Vithanage, LD Madushanka, PVD Chameera, PHT Kaushal, DAS Gunaratne, PLS Gamage

Fall of wickets 1-27 (Jayasuriya, 4.3 ov), 2-32 (Gunathilaka, 5.2 ov), 2-184* (Perera, retired not out, 29.1 ov)


Mir Hamza 9-1-55-1, Zia-ul-Haq 7-1-36-1, Shahzaib Ahmed 7.2-0-64-0, Bilawal Bhatti 5-0-34-0, Umar Amin 1-0-8-0, Imad Wasim 3-0-6-0


Toss – Pakistan A, who chose to bat

Series – Sri Lanka A led the 3-match series 1-0

Umpires – ID Gunawardene and RA Kottahachchi

Match referee – M Jayasena

Reserve umpire – CM Hathurusingha