Cantt all set for LB polls today


All the arrangements have been finalised by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to hold polling at 431 polling stations in districts including Rawalpindi, Chaklala, Murree, Taxila, and Wah Cantonments from 8 am to 5 pm (without break) today.

According to the ECP, around 200 polling stations have been declared sensitive and placed in category A.

“Army personnel would be deployed with magisterial powers in and around the all polling stations of the five cantonments,” District Election Officer Rawalpindi Nadeem Zubair said.

He said that the civil administration and police would also be present to ensure holding of smooth, free, fair and transparent polling process. There are 680,000 voters, which includes 284,000 women and 322,000 men.

Around 3,200 officials have been engaged by the ECP to supervise the polling process at 1,236 polling booths spread over 50 wards of the five cantonments.

The balloting material and other relevant articles are being provided at the polling stations and the distribution of material is being supervised by the concerned ROs.

A public holiday has already been declared in the cantonments of the district with the aim to facilitate all the voters to exercise their right to franchise.

Meanwhile, the ECP has already issued code of conduct for the media, according to which, they can only announce the result, which is made public by the concerned Returning Officer.