2014 tax directory – politicians and their taxes revealed


The Finance Ministry on Friday released the Tax Directory of the parliamentarians for the year 2014 according to which Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif paid Rs 2.6 million in tax in 2014, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan paid Rs 200,000.

Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif paid Rs 5.1 million while Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) leader Aitzaz Ahsan paid Rs 12.4 million.

According to details, Sharif paid Rs 2,611,037 as tax in the year 2014 while the Punjab CM paid Rs 5,125,000. Imran Khan paid Rs 218,237 while Ghulam Ahmad Bilour of Awami National Party (ANP) paid Rs 17,271. Akram Khan Durrani of Jamiat Ulema Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) paid Rs 18,181.

PTI Vice Chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi paid Rs 1,533,731 and Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) leader Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao paid Rs 1,688,000 in 2014.

Federal Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources Shahid Khaqan Abbasi paid Rs 2,213,000 as tax in 2014, while Finance Minister Ishaq Dar paid Rs 2,286,702 as income tax.

MPAs from Punjab, Zulfiqar Ali Khan and Malik Zahoor Anwar, paid no income tax in 2014.