Filing of nomination papers for Cantt LG polls begins


The Election Commission (ECP) through concerned returning officers (ROs) has started process of receiving nomination papers for the local government elections of the cantonment boards throughout the country on Sunday which will continue till March 31 (Tuesday).

It should be mentioned that LB election in all cantonment boards of the country are going to be held on April 25 and the nomination papers are being filed for 199 wards of the cantonment boards on the general seats.

The scrutiny of nomination papers will take place from April 2 to 4. The candidates can withdraw the papers until April 4 while appeals against rejection or acceptance of nomination papers can be filed on April 6, which will be dealt with latest by April 9. The election symbol will be allotted on April 11 and the final stage of polling will be on April 25.

According to the details, the elections in Faisal Cantonment, Manora Cantonment, Karachi, Clifton, Malir and Korangi Cantonments will be held on April 25. The executive officers of these cantonments have been appointed as the returning officers (ROs). The ROs will issue and receive nomination papers.

As many as 30 wards have been made in the 10 cantonment areas of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) where the nomination papers are being submitted on the general seats. Five wards each in Peshawar and Abbottabad, four in Nowshera, three wards each in Kohat and Risalpur while two wards each in Chirat, Mardan, DI Khan, Havelian were collecting the nomination papers.

As many as 10 wards have been made each in Rawalpindi, Chaklala, Wah Cantt, Lahore, Walton, Sargodha, Gujranwala and Multan while three will be five wards each in Sialkot, Shorkot and Okara and three wards in Bhawalpur were functioning.

There will be two wards each in Attock, Sanjowal, Taxila, Murree Hills, Kamra, Jhelum and Mangla and 44 wards in eight cantonment boards of Sindh. As many as nine wards of three cantonment boards of Balochistan have been made. Two wards each for Quetta, Zhob and Loralai have been formed.