3 special courts established for speedy trial


As the fate of proposed military courts seems to hang in the balance, three special courts were established in the country on Thursday under the controversial Pakistan Protection Act 2014.

The courts were established in Lahore, Quetta and Peshawar with the aim to end the scourge of terrorism in the country.

Two more – out of the five approved – special courts are yet to be established in Sindh and Islamabad.

Justice Anwar Khan will be heading the special court of Peshawar, Justice Muqaram Khan of Lahore and Justice Zafar Ali of Quetta.

According to the bill passed in the parliament, the government can establish as many special courts under the act.

The government after consultation with the chief justice of the concerned high court, could also appoint any person as judge of the special court who is or has been a sessions judge in any province of Pakistan, or has been an advocate of a high court for a period of not less than ten years, and is not more than seventy years of age.