Muharram: 11 cities of Punjab declared ‘sensitive’



Eleven cities of Punjab have been declared sensitive during Muharram-ul-Haram, according to Punjab police. Security has been beefed up to avoid any untoward incident.

The cities of Lahore, Rawalpindi, Bhakar, Chakwal, Multan, Faisalabad, Jhang, Gujrat, Bahawalpur, D.G Khan and Sahiwal have been listed as sensitive.

Pakistan Army would also remain on standby for Muharram 9 and 10 to maintain peace, the government said.

If required FC, Pakistan Rangers and other paramilitary forces would assist police, and the army would be called to maintain law and order, City Police Officer (CPO) Humyion Bashir Tarrar said. He also said that implementation of Muharram Security Plan will be ensured and police department will remain on high alert throughout the month.

Close circuit television (CCTV) cameras will also be installed along routes of main Zuljinnah processions and places where Majalis are held, to ensure security.