Pakistan clinch thriller to win gold


The spinners Sana Mir, Sadia Yousuf and Nida Dar claimed two wickets apiece, as Pakistan Women retained the gold medal in the Asian Games after beating Bangladesh Women by four runs according the D/L method in the final in Incheon.

Set a revised target of 43 from seven overs, Bangladesh were on course at 30 for 2 after 4.2 overs, but they completely collapsed from there and lost their next seven wickets for just eight runs. Rumana Ahmed and Fargana Ahmed were the team’s top scorers with 10 each, but none of the other batsmen could muster more than seven, as Bangladesh could manage only two fours in the entire innings. Four of Pakistan’s bowlers went at under six an over, as the team kept Bangladesh to 38 for 9 to successfully defend the gold medal they won during the 2010 Asian Games.

Pakistan, opting to bat, had made 97 for 6 from their 20 overs. Bismah Maroof, Pakistan’s leading run-scorer in the tournament, hit 24 off 27 balls, while Nain Abidi chipped in with 18. Legspinner Rumana Ahmed was the pick of Bangladesh’s bowlers and collected 2 for 13.


Marina Iqbal st †Nuzhat Tasnia b Rumana Ahmed             14

Javeria Khan c Salma Khatun b Jahanara Alam     6

Bismah Maroof b Fahima Khatun              24

Nain Abidi st †Nuzhat Tasnia b Rumana Ahmed 18

Sana Mir lbw b Salma Khatun      10

Nida Dar not out               10

Asmavia Iqbal run out (Fargana Hoque/Panna Ghosh)    6

Qanita Jalil not out           3

Extras (lb 1, w 5)               6

Total (6 wickets; 20 overs)            97

Did not batSadia Yousuf, Sidra Nawaz†, Sumaiya Siddiqi

Fall of wickets 1-14 (Javeria Khan, 2.4 ov), 2-35 (Marina Iqbal, 7.4 ov), 3-55 (Bismah Maroof, 12.1 ov), 4-77 (Sana Mir, 15.6 ov), 5-79 (Nain Abidi, 16.4 ov), 6-92 (Asmavia Iqbal, 19.1 ov)


Jahanara Alam 3-0-12-1, Panna Ghosh 3-0-18-0, Salma Khatun 4-0-22-1, Rumana Ahmed 4-0-13-2, Fahima Khatun 4-0-19-1, Shaila Sharmin 2-0-12-0


Ayasha Rahman run out (Javeria Khan/†Sidra Nawaz)     7

Rumana Ahmed run out (Sumaiya Siddiqi/†Sidra Nawaz)              10

Fargana Hoque b Sadia Yousuf   10

Salma Khatun b Sadia Yousuf      1

Lata Mondal st †Sidra Nawaz b Sana Mir                1

Fahima Khatun b Sana Mir           0

Nuzhat Tasnia c & b Nida Dar      1

Shahanaz Parvin run out (Asmavia Iqbal/Nida Dar)           3

Panna Ghosh c & b Nida Dar        1

Jahanara Alam not out   0

Shaila Sharmin not out   0

Extras (b 1, lb 2, w 1)       4

Total (9 wickets; 7 overs)              38

Fall of wickets 1-13 (Ayasha Rahman, 2.1 ov), 2-20 (Rumana Ahmed, 2.6 ov), 3-30 (Salma Khatun, 4.2 ov), 4-33 (Fargana Hoque, 4.6 ov), 5-33 (Lata Mondal, 5.1 ov), 6-34 (Fahima Khatun, 5.5 ov), 7-36 (Nuzhat Tasnia, 6.1 ov), 8-38 (Shahanaz Parvin, 6.4 ov), 9-38 (Panna Ghosh, 6.5 ov)


Asmavia Iqbal 1-0-9-0, Sumaiya Siddiqi 2-0-11-0, Sana Mir 2-0-11-2, Sadia Yousuf 1-0-2-2, Nida Dar 1-0-2-2


Toss – Pakistan Women, who chose to bat

Series – Pakistan Women won the 2014/15 Asian Games Women’s Cricket Competition

Umpires – R Batumalai (Malaysia) and Sarika Prasad (Singapore)

Match referee – RJ Ratnayake (Sri Lanka)

Reserve umpire – BB Pradhan (Nepal)

Comments are closed.