SHC moved against promotion of 8 professors


The Sindh High Court (SHC) on Tuesday directed University of Sindh’s chancellor, vice chancellor, registrar and other respondents to file their respective replies on a petition that questioned the legality of promotions of eight professors as meritorious professors (BPS-22).

Petitioner Professor Dr Parveen Munshi, dean of faculty of education, moved the court impleading university’s chancellor, vice chancellor, registrar and eight newly-promoted Professors – Dr Abida Tahrani, Abdullah Dayu, Dr Parveez Ahmed Pathan, Dr Imdad Ali Ismaili, Dr Muhammad Siddiqui Kalhoro, Dr Nasreen Memon, Dr Ghulam Sarwar, Dr Sarfaraz Hussain Solangi as respondents.

The petitioner contended that she had submitted application for her promotion as meritorious professor and gave an interview to special selection board of the university.

She said special selection board held a meeting with Prof Dr Abida Tahrani, Pro VC in the chair and short listed eight professors to be promoted to next rank excluding her.

Following the recommendation of the selection board, the syndicate meeting of the university held on July 17 which approved the promotions of eight professors, she added.

The petitioner argued that promotions ware made unlawfully as syndicate meeting was attended by three of those professors whose own cases of promotion were involved. It is well-established law that no one should be part of the syndicate meeting held to consider their case of promotion.

Although she was eligible professor for the promotion as per criteria laid down by Higher Education Commission and rules of the Sindh University yet she was rejected, the petitioner said adding, selection boards recommendation to promote eight professors excluding her were biased and based on favouritism.

She requested the court to declare their promotions as illegal and direct relevant authorities to consider her case of promotion.