Altaf suspends 19 MQM leaders for being ‘irresponsible’


The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) has suspended at least 19 members of its Rabita Committee for an indefinite period for showing “lack of responsibility” in their duties, a statement on the party’s website said on Sunday.

According to the statement, MQM chief Altaf Hussain had telephoned the party’s headquarters Nine Zero in Karachi on Sunday morning and found that the Rabita Committee’s night shift members were present at the premises while the morning shift members were absent from duty. The suspended members include Nasreen Jalil, Haider Abbas Rizvi, Qamar Naveed, Dr Sagheer, Mumtaz Anwaar, Tauseef Khanzada, Syed Shakir Ali, Saif Yar Khan, Khalid Sultan, Nisar Pinhvore, Yousuf Shahwani, Aslam Afridi, Ameenul Haq, Ahmed Saleem Siddiqi, Abdur Rasheed Godale, Ishfaq Mangi, Adil Siddiqi and Kaful Wara.

The suspended members have been barred from attending any party function.