List of 22 MPs for electoral reforms committee sent to speaker


PPP nominates four members, PTI and MQM have nominated three members each while PML-N has named seven members for the committee

A nomination list of 22 parliamentarians for the electoral reform committee proposed by the opposition has been finalised and sent to National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq on Saturday.

The procedure calls for 33 parliamentarians to be part of the committee which will have representation from all parliamentary parties.

Leaders from the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and the opposition parties were expected to finalise the list, which will consist of 11 members of the Senate and 22 members of the Lower House.

Four members — two in NA and two in Senate — were nominated by the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP). The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) have nominated three MNAs each.

The government has nominated a total of seven members for the committee, with three from the NA and the remaining from the Senate.

Furthermore, a letter has been written to the chairman of the Senate with a notification to submit the 11 names by July 24.

Earlier on Thursday, the government and opposition had agreed on a procedure to constitute the committee.

On June 10, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had written to Sadiq to constitute the special parliamentary committee with members from both houses of parliament to deliberate on the issue.

The committee will be mandated to consider and present recommendations to ensure free, fair and transparent elections in the country, amend constitutional provisions relating to caretaker governments and the adoption of the latest technology currently available for holding elections.