Let the case begin!


The session court on Friday admitted a plea by Tehreek-e-Minhajul Quran, nominating Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif and five others as accused and called for the registration of a case against them over the Model Town tragedy.

TMQ Director Jawwad Hamid lodged a plea in the court on Friday. The court admitted the plea for preliminary hearing and sought a reply from the Faisal Town Police Station, Lahore.

The petition nominates PM Nawaz Sharif, Punjab CM Shahbaz Sharif, former Punjab law minister Rana Sanaullah, Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar, Defence Minister Khawaja Asif, Railways Minister Khawaja Saad Rafique, Minister for Information and Broadcasting Pervez Rasheed, ASP Model Town Haroonur Rasheed and Gullu Butt as accused in the case.

The petitioner also pleaded that the police was given an application for registration of a case against the people responsible for the incident at TMQ Secretariat but a case was not registered against them.

The petitioner said that the government is solely responsible for the Model Town tragedy and claimed that a case should be registered against the named accused under section 302 of PPC and section 7 of Anti Terrorism Act among other criminal sections.

The petition springs from an anti-encroachment drive that was conducted by a contingent of police personnel in order to remove the barriers placed outside Pakistan Awami Tehreek’s (PAT) and TMQ Chairman Tahirul Qadri’s Lahore residence, in which 14 people were killed and over a 100 were injured.