All-round Pakistan Women claim T20 title



Pakistan Women capitalised on a poor batting display by South Africa Women to win the final of the PCB Qatar Women’s 20-Over Tri-series by seven wickets in Doha on Friday.
South Africa were put in to bat and their innings had a poor start as pacer Asmavia Iqbal dismissed opener Lizelle Lee off the first ball of the match. That early wicket set the trend for the rest of South Africa’s innings. South Africa did not help their cause with four run-outs, and more than half their total came courtesyMarizanne Kapp, who scored a 48-ball 40. After Kapp, the second-highest score in the innings was Sunette Loubser with 8. Iqbal and pacer Sania Khan picked up two wickets apiece as South Africa stuttered to 68 for 9 in their 20 overs.
Pakistan’s chase was guided by opener Javeria Khan, who scored 38 off 46 balls with three fours. The side lost three wickets in their chase, but the target of 69 was hardly demanding and Pakistan went past it with nearly four overs to spare.

South Africa Women 68/9 (20/20 ov)

Pakistan Women 72/3 (16.1/20 ov)

South Africa Women innings (20 overs maximum)
L Lee b Asmavia Iqbal 0
T Chetty† run out (†Batool Fatima) 5
M du Preez* b Sania Khan 7
M Kapp run out (Nain Abidi) 40
SA Fritz b Nida Dar 0
S Loubser c Sania Khan b Asmavia Iqbal 8
NA Moodley run out (Nain Abidi) 3
S Luus run out (Sana Mir) 1
S Ismail c Nain Abidi b Sania Khan 1
M Daniels not out 0
Extras (lb 1, w 2) 3
Total (9 wickets; 20 overs) 68 (3.40 runs per over)
Did not bat MM Letsoalo
Fall of wickets 1-0 (Lee, 0.1 ov), 2-13 (Chetty, 5.1 ov), 3-18 (du Preez, 7.5 ov), 4-21 (Fritz, 8.6 ov),5-48 (Loubser, 15.2 ov), 6-56 (Moodley, 17.2 ov), 7-63 (Luus, 19.1 ov), 8-66 (Ismail, 19.5 ov), 9-68 (Kapp, 19.6 ov)


Asmavia Iqbal 4-0-14-2
Qanita Jalil 2-0-3-0
Sadia Yousuf 2-0-7-0
Sana Mir 4-0-12-0
Sania Khan 4-0-16-2
Nida Dar 4-0-15-1

Pakistan Women innings (target: 69 runs from 20 overs)
Javeria Khan b Daniels 38
Nain Abidi st †Chetty b Loubser 4
Nida Dar run out (du Preez) 11
Bismah Maroof not out 14
Nahida Khan not out 2
Extras (b 1, w 2) 3

Total (3 wickets; 16.1 overs) 72 (4.45 runs per over)
Did not bat Sana Mir*, Asmavia Iqbal, Qanita Jalil, Batool Fatima†, Sania Khan, Sadia Yousuf
Fall of wickets 1-27 (Nain Abidi, 4.6 ov), 2-44 (Nida Dar, 8.5 ov), 3-66 (Javeria Khan, 15.3 ov)

M Daniels 3-0-13-1
S Ismail 4-2-9-0
MM Letsoalo 1-0-10-0
S Loubser 4-0-14-1
M Kapp 3.1-0-18-0
S Luus 1-0-7-0