Mamnoon Hussain takes oath as country’s 12th president


Mamnoon Hussain took oath as the twelfth head of state at a ceremony held at the Presidency on Monday.

Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry administrated oath to the new president at a simple but impressive ceremony, which was attended by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, the services chiefs, members of the federal cabinet, chief ministers, former presidents and prime ministers, judges, diplomats and senior officials.

Hussain, a PML-N candidate, won the presidential polls on July 30 by defeating PTI candidate Justice (r) Wajihuddin Ahmed with a considerable margin.

The main opposition party, the PPP had boycotted the presidential polls.

A graduate of the prestigious Institute of Business Administration, Karachi, Hussain was born in 1940 in Agra and his family migrated to Pakistan in 1947 at the time of partition.

He also served as Sindh governor from June to October 1999, until the PML-N government was ousted by General Pervez Musharraf.

Following is the list of former heads of states of Pakistan:

Major General Iskander Mirza from August 7, 1955 to October 27, 1958, Field Marshal Muhammad Ayub Khan from October 27, 1958 to March 25, 1969, General Agha Muhammad Yahya Khan from March 25, 1969 to December 20, 1971, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto from December 20, 1971 to August 14, 1973, Fazal Ilahi Chaudhry from August 14, 1973 to September 16, 1978, General Muhammad Ziaul Haq from Sept 16, 1978 to August 17, 1988, Ghulam Ishaq Khan from August 17, 1988 to July 18, 1993, Farooq Ahmad Khan Leghari from November 14, 1993 to December 2, 1997, Muhammad Rafiq Tarar from January 1, 1998 to June 20, 2001 General (r) Pervez Musharraf from June 20, 2001 to August 18, 2008 and Asif Ali Zardari from September 9, 2008 to September 8, 2013.