PML-N sweeps by-polls




The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday announced official results of country’s biggest ever by-polls, in which the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz emerged victorious with five National Assembly and 13 provincial assembly seats.

The PML-N clinched 11 provincial assembly seats from Punjab and two from Balochistan.

According to the ECP, the PPP got three NA seats and three provincial assembly seats, while Imran Khan’s PTI won two National Assembly seats.

The MQM, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party and Awami National Party won one NA seat each.

The MQM also got three provincial assembly seats.

The ECP withheld results for two NA seats, NA-5 and NA-27, where women were barred from casting votes.

According to the ECP, the overall turnout remained 36 percent.

For NA seats, the turnout remained high in Punjab with 42.19 percent, followed by Sindh with 39.18 percent.

Balochistan witnessed a 35.2 percent turnout and KP 22.54 percent.