Meeting of body on appointment of judges ends inconclusively


Meeting of the parliamentary committee on appointment of judges ended inconclusively on Monday as consensus could not be reached on certain names for appointment of judges in various high courts.

The meeting was chaired by Haji Adeel while Senator Raza Rabbani, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Raja Zafarul Haq, Rafiq Rajana, Mehmood Virk and Arshid Laghari were the attendees.

It reviewed the recommendations sent by the Judicial Commission for appointment of eight judges of the Sindh High Court (SHC) including Shaukat Ali Memon, Ashraf Jehan, Shah Nawaz Tariq, Abdul Malik, Nazar Akbar, Muhammad Junaid and Zafar Rajput and three judges of the Balochistan High Court including Ejaz Swati, Shakil Ahmad and Muhammad Kamran as additional judges.

Sources said the committee could not agree on certain names in connection with their appointment as additional judges. Some members sought more information about the judges and the committee summoned more details in this regard.

Talking to reporters after the meeting, the chairman said the committee had ample time to consider the matter of appointment of these judges, adding that it needed more information.

The committee will again meet during this week and it is hoped the matter will be finalised during the meeting.