Malik fails appeal against Dereck Chisora KO win


Dereck Chisora’s knockout win over Malik Scott will stand after the American’s appeal against the stoppage was rejected by the British Boxing Board of Control.

Chisora faced Scott in a crucial heavyweight clash last month and the fight ended in bizarre fashion with the Philadelphia man appearing to misjudge the referee’s count after being caught by a right hand.

Scott did not seem badly hurt when he dropped to one knee, but he failed to rise to his feet until referee Phil Edwards had reached nine and the official waved off the contest.

A protest lodged by Scott’s camp after the bout has since been dismissed by the BBBOC and general secretary Robert Smith insists the fighter was not in a position to defend himself.

The statement from Smith on read: “When describing the process of Mr Scott rising, you quite correctly make reference to Mr Scott ‘having nothing on the canvas but his feet’ at the count of nine.

“However, under British Boxing Board of Control Rules (3.32) a boxer is deemed to be ‘down’ by one of four criteria, one of which is ‘when the boxer is in the act of rising.’ Therefore, the point at which the boxer has nothing on the canvas but his feet is not the point at which the boxer is no longer ‘down.’

“Most importantly, after a boxer is ‘down’ boxing can only continue when the boxer ‘is in a position and a condition to defend himself’.”

Smith also ruled out suggestions that Scott was not given a correct 10-count by Edwards.

“In the United Kingdom (like many countries) the count of the referee (having picked it up from the timekeeper) is ‘seven, eight, nine, out.’ Ten is never called by any referee in any contest in this country,” he said.

Chisora’s win over Scott could pave the way for a European title shot and he is expected to fight again on September 21st.