23 submit papers for NA-1 seat


At least 23 candidates, seven from the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), have filed nomination papers to contest by-polls from NA-1 Peshawar-1, vacated by Imran Khan.
Fayaz Ali Shah alias Fauji, cousin of former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa PPP president Zahir Ali Shah, has also filed papers from the constituency. He is likely to contest by-polls on a PML-N ticket. A woman is also among those who submitted their nomination papers.
According to officials, 23 people have filed their nomination papers to contest by-polls from NA-1 Peshawar-1. PTI chief Imran Khan won the seat in May 11 elections, but later he vacated it. Awami National Party’s Ghulam Ahmad Bilour was runner up against Imran Khan.
Bilour is prominent among those who have filed nomination papers. PPP’s Zulfikar Afghani, Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl’s Haji Abdul Jalil Jan and Jamaat-e-Islami’s Beherullah are prominent amongst the aspirants. Mutahida Deeni Mahaz’s Ibrahim Qasmi has also filed papers.
Imran Khan has nominated Gul Badshah but party workers opposed him on the grounds that his parents were reportedly Afghan immigrants. Other PTI members who submitted papers are Salim Jan, Samad Mursalin, Muhammad Atif, Qasim Ali, Muhammad Tariq and Zafarullah Khattak have filed nomination papers.