Re-polling begins in six polling stations of PS-128


Re-polling had begun in six polling stations of provincial assembly constituency PS-128 on Saturday following an order by the Election Commission of Pakistan.

Two major parties — the Awami National Party and the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf — were boycotting the re-polling and army troops were deployed in and outside the polling stations to act in case of any untoward incidents.

The polling is being seen as crucial for two parties — the Muttahida Quami Movement and the Muttahida Deeni Mahaz (MDM) — which were seen in a neck-and-neck contest during the May 11 polls when an early morning bomb blast in one of the areas of the constituency killed more than a dozen people and affected the balloting process in some six polling stations.

The ECP had ordered re-polling after the MDM candidate and a senior leader of the Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamaat Aurangzaib Farooqi challenged the initial results and appealed for re-polling in six polling stations arguing that the early morning May 11 bombing in his constituency did not allow certain voters to use their rights.

The bomb blast on May 11 morning apparently targeting ANP’s election office in the Landhi area killed more than a dozen people including a little boy and left nearly 50 injured including 11 children.