Parliamentary body approves Judicial Commission’s recommendations


The Parliamentary Judicial Commission Committee for Judges’ Appointment in its meeting on Monday approved recommendations of the Judicial Commission.
The committee extended the services tenure of six additional judges of Sindh High Court for one year, regularised the services of three judges of Peshawar High Court while the services of four judges were extended.
The meeting of the Parliamentary Committee for Judges’ Appointment, with Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain in chair, took place at Parliament House.
According to rules, participation of three members is necessary for quorum of the meeting. However, the committee continued its proceedings with only Senator Ishaq Dar being the other participant.
The judges who were given a one-year extension included Justice Muhammad Farooq Shah, Justice Farooq Ali Channa, Justice Azizur Rehman, Justice Aftab Ahmad Grad, Justice Riazat Ali Sehr and Justice Salahuddin. The commission did not give extension to Justice Habibur Rehman Sheikh.
Similarly, the judges who were confirmed include Justice Nisar Hussain Khan, Justice Waqar Ahmad Seth and Justice Qamar Rashid.
A year’s extension was given to Justice Asadullah Khan Chamkani, Justice Mrs Irshad Qaisar, Justice Shahjihan Khan Akhundzada and Justice Roohul Ameen Khan.