New Punjab Assembly goes into session | Pakistan Today

New Punjab Assembly goes into session

317 new MPAs sworn in during inaugural session

The maiden session of the newly-elected 371-member Punjab Assembly was held on Saturday, presided over by outgoing Speaker Rana Iqbal.

The House was later adjourned. Nominations for the slots of speaker and deputy speaker will be submitted by 5pm on Sunday, following which the election for the said positions would be held on June 3.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has decided to again field Rana Muhammad Iqbal as the PA speaker.

The House will elect its leader, the chief minister, on June 6, while the nomination papers for the coveted slot can be submitted by June 5.

Sources said among the 317 those who took oath, about 150 became members of the 371-strong Punjab Assembly for the first time.

The PML-N commands absolute majority in the House with 246 general seats, seven minority and 50 female reserved seats.

It is followed by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) with 20 general seats, five female reserved seats and one minority seat.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Q (PML-Q) holds the third position with seven general seats and two female reserved seats, while the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has six general seats and one female reserved seat.

The Muslim League-Zia has two general seats and one of female reserved seat.

The Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) and Pakistan National Muslim League have a seat each.

Six winning independent candidates have also become part of the Punjab Assembly.

At least 27 female members of the PML-N have become part of the assembly for the first time, 16 for the second time and seven for a third time.

PTI’s six female candidates have become members of the House for the first time, PML-Q’s two female candidates have become members for the second time, while PPP’s Faiza Malik has become a Punjab Assembly member for a third time.

Related posts