KP Assembly holds first session, leaders take oath


The 11th Khyber Paktunkhwa (KP) Assembly convened for the first time on Wednesday where newly-elected members of the provincial assembly took oath.

Out of 124 members, 123 took oath.

Outgoing Speaker Kiramatullah Khan administered the oath to the newly-elected members. Later the session was postponed for Thursday, 10 am.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominated Asad Qaisar as speaker of the KP Assembly and Imtiaz Qureshi as deputy speaker.

Voting for the election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker would be held on Thursday.

The PTI has already named Pervez Khattak as leader of the house in KP Assembly.

In the province, PTI won the highest number of seats, 35, in the May 11 elections.

Earlier, PTI, Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) and Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) had finalised a formula over the formation of government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, according to which JI and QWP are to get three ministries each, whereas, PTI would hold the positions of chief minister and speaker in the province.

Moreover, the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) announced it would sit on KP’s opposition benches.


Comments are closed.