KP Assembly to meet on May 29


The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa governor has summoned the provincial assembly to meet at the ProvincialAssemblyBuilding on Wednesday, May 29, at 10am for the members’ oath-taking ceremony, election and oath of the speaker, and the deputy speaker and for the election of the chief minister of the province.

It was officially notified here in Peshawar on Monday.

In the first-ever sitting of the new Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, the newly-elected MPs would take oath. Outgoing speaker Kiramatullah Khan Chagharmati will administer oath to new members of the august house.

After administering oath to the newly-elected MPs, Chagharmati will announce the schedule for the election of the speaker. In this respect, another session of the House will be held on May 30. On the same day, the newly-elected speaker will announce the schedule for election of the deputy speaker.

So far the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, which is the major party in the KP Assembly, has nominated its provincial President Asad Qaisar for the office of speaker. The opposition parties will announce the name of their candidate on May 29.

The PTI-led coalition partners have not yet announced the name of its candidate for the office of deputy speaker.

Upon completion of the election of the speaker and the deputy speaker, the House will go for the election of chief minister. Pervez Khattak has already been nominated as the leader of the House.

After administering oath, Khattak will complete his cabinet. The cabinet will comprise of 15 members, two each from the Qaumi Watan Party and the Jamaat-e-Islami, the two to-be coalition parties.

The PTI has 44 members in the House of 99, nut this number is likely to go up to 59 with notification of women and minorities on reserved seats.

The JUI-F, the PML-N and the Awami National Party will go to the opposition benches.

The PPP and the eth Awami Jamhoori Ittehad (Swabi group) have yet to decide their status in the provincial assembly.