53 politicians challenge ECP results



As many as 53 politicians, who tasted defeat in May 11 elections, have approached the Election Commission of Pakistan, alleging serious allegations of rigging in their respective constituencies.

Those who challenged election results include Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) senior leader Hamid Ali Khan, who contested election from NA-125 Lahore, PML-Q leader Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain, former minister for housing and works Syed Faisal Salah Hayat, PTI’s Malik Ameen Aslam, Ishaq Khaqwani, PPP’s Mir Baz Khetran, PML-N’s Pir Sabir Shah, Qazi Asad, Aftab Shahban Mirani and others.

On Wednesday, the ECP heard the viewpoint of some complainants, however, this process would continue for the next couple of days and the commission would decide the fate of the applications later.

“In my constituency- NA-263, we witnessed massive and systematic rigging. Result of my election was changed. Even ballot boxes and election material was stolen. There was an impossible 100 percent voter turnout in at least 10 polling stations in my constituency. We are not satisfied with the ECP. I’m here just to record my protest, for I know who played the game,” Mir Baz Khetran told reporters at ECP.

He said the elections were one the most rigged elections in the electoral history of the country. The former parliamentarian said 100 percent turnout at 10 polling stations in NA-263 Khuzdar-Balochistan, was itself a proof of rigging.

Meanwhile, the ECP on Wednesday decided to conduct re-polling in some polling stations of NA-269-Khuzdar, NA-41 Tribal Area, NA-46 Tribal Area PK-71 and PK-72.

The commission said the re-polling at station number 142 and 143 of NA-269-Khuzdar would be held on May 21, 2013.

Pursuant to the reports received from the political agent/DRO South Waziristan Agency and returning officer for NA-41 Tribal Area-VI, the ECP also directed re-polling at station number 32, 37, 57 and 59 of NA-41 0n May 21, 2013. The ECP also directed re-polling at station number 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 43, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51 and 54 of NA-46 Tribal Area-XI on May 25, 2013. Re-polling at station number 28, 39, 40 and 50 of PK-71 Bannu-II will be held on May 21. The ECP also directed re-polling at polling station number 4, 18 and 35 of PK-72 Bannu-III on May 21. The decision has been taken in the light of reports received from the returning officers concerned. The returning officer concerned shall personally supervise the re-polling, the ECP said.