Tough contest likely in NA-250


NA-250, which observed tough competition amongst the political parties in every election, is likely to prove as a battleground in the upcoming elections.
All parties have fielded their candidates in this constituency and it is difficult to predict about the result. Interestingly, this would be only constituency in the violence-hit metropolis where all political parties are carrying their election campaign without any fear.
The constituency covers City Railways Colony, Gari Khata, Saddar, Civil Lines, Hijrat Colony, Clifton, Shah Rasool Colony, Kehkashan, Doli Khata, Bizerta Lines, Cantt Railway Colony, Dehli Colony, Defence Phase V, VI, VII and VIII, and Qayyumabad. Every party claimed that they are enjoying support of area residents and if free, fair and transparent polls would be held then they would be in position of winning this seat.
The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) have fielded their heavyweights in this constituency. However, the MQM and JI candidates are in a strong position to win this seat. The MQM’s former MNA from this constituency Khush Bakht Shujaat and JI former City Nazim Karachi Naimatullah Khan are contesting from this cosntituency.
In 2008 elections, MQM candidate Khush Bakht Shujaat secured 52,045 votes and PPP candidate Mirza Iftikhar Baig stood second by bagging 44,412 votes while PML-N’s Saleem Zia clinched 3,480 votes. In 2002, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) candidate Abdul Sattar Afghani won this seat with 21,462 votes and MQM’s Nasreen Jalil stood second with 19,414 votes. PPP’s Mirza Ikhtiar Baig got 12,105 votes, PML-N Mamnoon Hussain 5,565 votes, PML-Q MA Wajid Jawad 4,718 votes, Sunni Tehreek’s (ST) Syed Javed Umer 1,226 votes and PTI candidate Kamal Shah got 3,176 votes.
The MQM once again awarded ticket to Khush Bakht Shujaat, who won the seat in 2008 elections. Being the city’s biggest party, MQM candidate Khush Bakht Shujaat is enjoying support of the public. The MQM candidate held a great vote bank of women in this area. Khush Bakht Shujaat is holding rallies and corner meetings regularly to save her seat in coming elections.
JI has fielded former city nazim Niamatullah Khan at NA-250. The former city mayor is election campaign in this constituency is in full swing. He is running an organised election campaign in this locality. Ex-city mayor is attracting voters on basis of development work in the city during his rule. Naimatullah Khan also attracting anti-MQM voters in this constituency.
Besides, JI candidate also enjoy support of 10-party alliance in Sindh led by PML-F leader Pir Pagara. PMl-N has withdrawn its candidate Saleem in favour of Naimatullah Khan.
The PTI has given ticket of NA-250 to Dr Arif Alvi, who was ex-secretary general of PTI and a well-known dentist of Karachi. Engineer Najeeb Haroon was also in the race of PTI ticket for same constituency but party parliamentary board gave its decision in favour of Dr Alvi. Dr Alvi with provincial assembly candidate Samar Ali Khan has already started a decent campaign in this constituency. Dr Alvi is confident that youth in particular will play a key role in election and he claims that majority of youth are in support of PTI’s change philosophy.
PPP has given ticket to Mirza Ikhtiar Baig, who is a central leader of PPP and was runner up of 2008 elections from this constituency. Dr. Ikhtiar Baig would also be a good candidate and will be among major players in 2013 election from here.
Sister of Dr Afia Siddiqui, Dr Fouzia Siddiqui is also in the race of NA 250 Karachi. Her sole agenda is release of Dr Afia Siddiqui. She is representing Afia movement. Though she is not politically popular, she may get sympathy votes.