PPP, PML-N field candidates in Balochistan


Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim
League-Nawaz (PML-N) fielded their candidates for the upcoming general elections in Balochistan.
Political sources said on Wednesday that some unrest was reported in old party workers who were not awarded party tickets as both parties awarded tickets mostly to tribal chieftains or influential persons. However, many were of the view that it was for the first time that PML-N received support of some influential tribal chiefs and big politicians in Balochistan, including Sardar Sanaullah Zehri, Nawabzada Lashkari Raisani, Mir Jan Jamali and many others.
“Earlier, PML-N had not a single member in Balochistan Assembly as Sardar Sanaullah Zehri and Abdul Khaliq Achakzai joined PML-N after winning elections in 2008. However, now it has emerged as one of the big political parties of Balochistan and are among hopefuls of forming the next provincial government in the province,” they said.
On other hand, PPP Balochistan is also facing inner differences due to two groups within the party. Mir Sadiq Umrani is leading one group while detained PPP leader Ali Madad Jattak leads another group of party workers. However, party sources said senior PPP leader Faryal Talpur, sister of President Asif Ali Zardari, urged both leaders to shun their differences.
PML-N Balochistan awarded tickets to Nawab Sanaullah Zehri for NA-268 Kalat-Mastung and NA-269 Khuzdar, Nawabzada Jangez Marri for NA-265 Dera Bugti-Kohlu-Sibi, Sardar Yaqoob Nasar for NA-263 Loralai-Barkhan, Sheikh Abdul Sattar Mandokhel for NA-264 Zhob, Gen (r) Abdul Qadir Baloch for NA-271 Kharan-Washuk-Panjgur, Mir Humayun Aziz Kurd for NA-267 Kachhi-Jhal Magsi, Zubaida Jalal for NA-272 Kech-Gwadar, and Muhammad Yousuf Khan Kakar for NA-261 Pishin-Ziarat.
PPP has awarded tickets to Mir Maqbool Ahmed Lehri for NA-259 Quetta, Sardar Omar Gorgaij for NA-260 Quetta-Chagai, Abdul Wahab Barakzai for NA- 261 Pishin-Ziarat, Nazar Muhammad Kakar for NA-262 Qila Abdullah, Mir Baz Muhammad Khetran for NA-263 Loralai-Barkhan, Mir Ahmed Jan for NA-265 Dera Bugti-Kohlu-Sibi, Mir Changez Jamali for NA-266 Nasirabad-Jaffarabad, Ayatullah Durrani for NA-268 Kalat-Mastung, Mir Imam Bakhsh Zehri for NA-269 Khuzdar, Ghulam Akbar Lasi for NA-270 Awaran-Lasbela, Ehsan Reiki for NA-271 Kharan-Panjgur and Sabir Baloch for NA-272 Kech-Gwadar.
Shahbaz Sharif and Mushahidullah Khan of PML-N, who recently visited Quetta, said their party would support Pakhtoonkhawa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) leader Mehmood Khan Achakzai for NA-259 Quetta.
A compromise between PPP and Sardar Saleh Bhootani and his brother Muhammad Aslam Bhootani has also been reached and Bhootani brothers announced their support for the PPP candidate Ghulam Akbar Lasi for the Lasbela NA seat while the PPP would support Bhootani brothers for the Lasbela provincial seat.