CLT20 in India, Misbah’s Wolves in qualifiers


The Champions League T20 2013 will be held in India from September 17 to October 6 and will feature a Pakistan’s T20 winners Faisalabad Wolves in the qualifiers. The main draw sees West Indian representation for the first time but there will be no team from England in the tournament.

The schedule, announced on Friday, has ten teams split in two groups, with the top two in each group making the semifinals. Eight teams have been seeded directly into the main competition and will be joined by two of the five qualifiers.

One of those qualifiers is Faisalabad Wolves, who recently won the Faysal Bank Super Eight T20 Cup; their participation in the tournament will be interesting given the fragile diplomatic and sporting ties between India and Pakistan.

Trinidad & Tobago find a place in the main draw, after sustained public pressure following strong performances in previous seasons. They had finished runners-up in the inaugural edition in 2009, and won Qualifiers in 2011 and 2012 to secure their berth.

The ECB’s announcement that no teams from England will take part in this year’s competition has opened up slots for other domestic competitions.

Group A IPL 1st ranked team (India) Highveld Lions (South Africa) Perth Scorchers (Australia) IPL 3rd ranked team (India) Q1 (Qualifier)

Group B IPL 2nd ranked team (India) Titans (South Africa) Brisbane Heat (Australia) Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies) Q2 (Qualifier)

Qualifier IPL 4th ranked team (India) Otago Volts (New Zealand) Uva Next (Sri Lanka) Faisalabad Wolves (Pakistan).