Establishment employs fuedals to resist MQM


The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) Coordination Committee’s Deputy Convener Dr Farooq Sattar blamed feudalism and hereditary politics for hampering the country’s progress and prosperity.

Dr Sattar was addressing a large congregation organised in connection with the party’s South Punjab chapter re-organisation. He said that that there is not a single district or Tehsil in Punjab where MQM’s orgnisational structure does not exist, adding that “as a matter of fact, law an order situation in Karachi was deliberately being spoiled merely to confine MQM to the city”.

Sattar said that his party had always wanted to end corrupt political practices and put and end to the ‘extracting’ status quo. He added that the party plans towards egalitarianism were always countered by the establishment, exploiting its nexus with the corrupt feudals and landlords who do not want an end to the ‘corrupt crony feudal’ political culture. He said that the constructive agendas of MQM were always hijacked by inciting riots between Pakhtuns and Mohajirs, between Sindhis and Mohajirs, between Punjabis and Mohajirs and between Balochs and Mohajirs.

He said that conspirators were out to unleash a bloodbath in Karachi, adding that the truthfulness of MQM chief Altaf Hussain’s philosophy could not be crushed. He said that a large number of liberal middle class citizens were joining MQM in large numbers and the party would‘
give surprising results in the forthcoming general elections’.

On the occasion, Sattar also announced names of office-bearers of MQM’s South Punjab Committee. The office bearers nominated were: Shamshad Jafferi as president, Rana Abu Bakar and Rai Khalid as senior vice presidents, Jawaid Cheema, Imran Gadi and Furqan Mughal as vice presidents, Idrees Jami as secretary-general, Ali Imran Suhrwardi, Maj (Retd) Javaid Hussain and Rao Tasleem as joint secretaries, Rao Khalid as secretary information, Qasim Rizvi as finance secretary and Nadeem Mirza as office secretary.
Ms Farkhunda, Rehmatullah Waraich, Sikandar Gopang, Zahid Bokhari, Jawaid Akhtar and Rashid Hashmi were nominated as members.


Comments are closed.