National deaf cricket begins with 8 matches


The national deaf cricket championship commenced here on Monday and a heavy programme was gone through as eight matches were decided at different venues.
The event is being played in two rounds with 16 teams playing at Lahore. The Karachi round will commence from January 30 at Karachi with 16 team taking part, said Zaheer ud Din Babar, manager, Pakistan deaf cricket association. He said the event is being sponsored by Pakistan Cricket Board. He expressed his thanks to Chairman, PCB, Muhammad Zaka Asrhaf for paying attention to deaf cricket by extending all possible help and financial assistance.
“ One team each will qualify for final from Lahore and Karachi and the final will be played at Karachi on February 4”,he said.
Following are the results of the matches,
Islamabad v/s Gujranwala at Model Town Cricket Club, Islamabad scored 384/3 in 40 overs and Bilal Aslam scored 170 runs Gujranwala scored 75/ all out. Adnan Ghani took 4 wickets and Islamabad won the match by 309 runs.
Gujarat v/s Swat at Albilal Cricket Ground Township. Gujrat won the toss and batted first scored 418 runs in 40 overs. Nadeem scored 92 runs and Sawat were all out at 133. Jabar took 4 wickets.Gujarat won the march by 280 runs. Chakwal v/s Sargodha at Shah Fisal Cricket Model Town. Sargodha won the toss and scored 262. Chakwal chased the target in 38.5 overs for the loss of 6 wickets. Ibrahim scored 132 . Chakwal won the match by 4 wickets.
Sheikhpura v/s D.I. Khan at Modal Town Green Cricket Club. D-I- Khan won the toss and scored 77. Sheikhpura chased the target in 19 over and won the match by 7 wickets
Sialkot v/s Peshawar at Town Ship White. Sialkot won the toss and managed 137 in 35.5 overs. Peshawar chased the target in 31 over and scored 138 with the loss of 6 wickets and won the match by 4 wickets.
Jhelum v/s Faisalabad at Township Green. Faisalabad scored 262 in 40 overs.. Kashif scored 94 runs. Jhelum lost their all wickets for 181 runs. Faisalabad won the match by 39 runs.
Rawalpindi v/s Narowal at Race Course Ground 1. Rawalpindei won the toss and scored 99 all out in 27.2 overs . Narowal chased the target in 20.3 overs and scored 103/3 and won the match by 7 wickets.
Kohat vs Hafizabad at Race Course Ground 2. Kohat won the toss and scored 197 all out in 39.2 overs. Hafizabad chased the target in 30.5 overs and scored 201 and won the match by 7 wickets. Awan scored 108 not out.