Wohaib club win Lahore District Hockey title


Wohaib club won the title of the Lahore district hockey championship beating Pak Heroes 4-1 in the final here on Thursday at Johar hockey stadium. Wohiab led the first half 1-0 after receiving 11thminute field goal from Yasir Khurshid also scored team’s second goal ,five minutes into the second half, with greater anticipation and swift dribbling. Wohaib club enjoyed all time supremacy in the match , slamming their third goal in the 47th minute through Awais ur Rehman who made no mistake with a firm push from the mid of the striking circle. Pak Heroes whose average play and defensive tactics let them down in the play, made their presence felt in the filed by scoring their only goal ,off the third and last short corner they earned in the play , with Imran finding the roof nets with a forceful push in the 48th minute. Rizwan Ali gave Wohaib their fourth goal in the 57thminute off a left flank move aided by the mid field. Former Pakistan captain now the manger of Pakistan hockey team, Chaudhary Akhtar Rasool was the chief guest on the occasion and gave away the trophies and prizes to the players. Also present were, President, Lahore district hockey association, Chaudhary Arshad, former Olympian Danish Kaleem and Shafqat Rasool.