Political parties united against undemocratic elements


Political parties would not tolerate undemocratic elements within the state and resolved to thwart all efforts to sabotage upcoming general elections or continuity of democratic process in the country.
It was decided in the joint-meeting of provincial heads of all political parties convened by Punjab Governor Makhdoom Ahmad Mahmud at the Governor’s House on Monday. Provincial heads of some 18 political parties participated in the meeting while PML-N stayed away from the meeting. All leaders eulogised unprecedented sacrifices of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto and Benazir Bhutto for the restoration and continuity of democracy in the country.
The political leadership was unanimous in their demand that general elections should be held on time. The meeting was attended by the President PPP Punjab Manzoor Ahmed Wattoo, Secretary General PPP Punjab Tanvir Ashraf Kaira, President PML-Q Lahore Yousaf Ahad Malik, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leaders Muhammad Zaki and Mazhar Sahi, Awami National Party’s Ahsan Wayin and Arif Azhar, Awami Tehrik’s GM Malik Qadri and Zaid Fayyaz, PML-Like-Minded’s Manzoor Gillani and Mian Irfan Akram, Jmaat-e-Islami leaders Dr Waseem Akhtar, Nazir Ahmed Janjua, Abdul Qadir Shaheen, Mufti Saeed Ahmed, Syed Saeed Ahmed Shah Gujrati, and Islamic Democratic Front Chairman Syed Munir Hussain Gillani, General Secretary Malik Akram Khokhar, and PML (Malik Qasim Group) leader Saifullah Saif. Speaking on the occasion, the Punjab governor admired all leaders for their presence for the stability of democratic process, solidarity of the country and prosperity of the people of Pakistan.
He stressed the need of joint efforts to foil nefarious designs of undemocratic forces bent upon destabilizing the democratic process and were hatching conspiracy against upcoming general election.